Our latest video contest winner takes on a hair-raising, high-stakes rescue on Grand Teton

It’s time to announce our next winner in the Swany Outdoor Adventure Video Contest. Meet Michelle Smith of Jackson, Wyo., who takes us on an adventure unlike any we have featured so far, one that that will raise the hair on the back of your neck and leave you with vertigo. Her story, which earns her our “monthly” award prize, is how she suffered terrible injuries in a climbing accident and … well, let Michelle tell the story.

In her own words: “I have been climbing up peaks in the Tetons and snowboarding down them for the past 4 seasons. The climbing fall I took happened on the Grand Teton last August. I slipped on ice and fell about 30 feet. During the fall I shattered my leg, broke my back in two places, and suffered multiple contusions. Luckily my climbing partner that day, Stephen Koch, is one of the best alpinists and snowboard mountaineers in the world. He helped me to stay calm during my rescue.  I have been recovering from this climbing accident for the past 5 and a half months and expect to make a 100% recovery. I just made my first pain-free turns snowboarding on Feb. 13.  My recovery plan during the past 5 months has been physical therapy, swimming, skate skiing, climbing up 1,500 vertical feet on Snow King Mountain in Jackson Hole and then taking the lift down, and rock climbing in the gym with my good leg.

For her video, Michelle gets a helmet cam, courtesy of Swany Gloves. Have a video that you’d like to enter? Just upload it to YouTube, Vimeo and the like, then send us the URL at swanygloves@gmail.com. That’s all there is to it! Complete rules here.

Other great stories to check out:

Swany Gloves is dedicated to bringing you the best of outdoor adventure. Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter.

0 Responses to “Our latest video contest winner takes on a hair-raising, high-stakes rescue on Grand Teton”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

